A Moment Around Midnight

Posted: August 28, 2013 in A Little Less Profound
Tags: , , ,

By Daario

Ed. Note: The following post was submitted in Spanish from a fan in Peru. The translation is courtesy of Google Translate, and we’ve taken the liberty of editing it to make it flow smoothly in English. The original Spanish version can be found here.

At one point in my life, the nights were days: without immediate responsibilities, I started the night locked up listening to music and smoking. They were excellent nights, before my schedule changed and I had to get up early, Monday through Friday.

Looking for new things, I found “The Buzz,” a radio station in the United States you can listen to via Winamp. On The Buzz, you could get hit with a song that you heard long ago, one of your favorites, or one you do not know. One song in their rotation caught my attention every time it played; I could sing along with it, chewing on the words.

It began with violins announcing what’s coming, slowly gaining in intensity; the melody, the lyrics and the energy perfectly synchronized with the song structure. It gradually rose to reach its peak and let you go, leaving you falling, destroying your brain. Wow! I had to know more about this. The name of the band: The Airborne Toxic Event. The song: Sometime Around Midnight. The song perfectly described that shit when, time after time, you see that person you’re trying to forget.

I searched for more about the band and I found the most creative promotional strategy I have ever heard of. Prior to the release of their first album, they recorded live videos of all the songs, played acoustically. Each one was filmed in a different, unusual place (like a boat, the open windows of the second floor, the entrance to a tunnel or a forest). I got the album and it’s one of those ones you can listen to without skipping tracks. A word? Hermoso. (Beautiful.)

TATE already has three studio albums and a live album. If you’re looking for something new to dance to, cry to or mourn to, this band is your best choice. They are full of energy and feeling – as we want everything to be.

Comments
  1. Dante says:

    Hermoso means Beautiful! Thank you!

    Like

  2. trevor says:

    I loved Peru beautiful country lovely people

    Like

  3. Glen, I really like that you posted this from a fan in Lima, but Google Translate leaves a lot to be desired! I happen to speak Spanish (My parents are Guatemalan and Cuban, although I was born and raised in the U.S.). Here’s my attempt at translating it again for This is Nowhere.

    “In Some Midnight Time” by Daario

    At one point in my life, the nights were days: without immediate responsibilities, the night would start and I locked myself up, listening to music and smoking. Excellent nights accompanied me, they left me with a difficult change of schedule, when the moment came to get up early Monday through Friday.

    Looking for new things, I found “The Buzz,” a radio station in the United States you can listen to via Winamp that reminded me of “ Radio Doble Nueve” [Lima’s Rock Radio Station at 99.1 FM] from 2000 to 2001, when you would ask the taxi driver to tune in, hoping that on your way that one of those songs would play that you would sing with a lot of feeling with your trip companions.

    Hearing the Buzz station tagline (“It’s Not Your Momma’s Radio Station! It’s the Buzz!”) you could get hit with a song that you hadn’t heard for a long time, one of your favorites, or one you do not know. The Buzz was a tremendous nighttime companion, and in their rotation, one song caught my attention every time it played: I could sing together with it, ruminating on some of the words.

    It began with violins announcing what’s coming, slowly gaining in intensity; the melody, the lyrics and the energy perfectly synchronized with the song structure. It gradually rose to reach its peak and let you go, leaving you falling, destroying your brain. Wow! I had to know more about this. The name of the band: The Airborne Toxic Event. The song: Sometime Around Midnight. The song perfectly described that shit you feel when, after a time, you see that person you’re trying to forget.
    I searched for more about the band and I found the most creative promotional strategy I have ever heard of. Prior to the release of their first album, they recorded live videos of all the songs, played acoustically. Each one was filmed in a different, unusual place (like a boat, the open windows of the second floor, the entrance to a tunnel or a forest). I got the album and just guess? It’s one of those ones you can listen to without skipping tracks. One word? Hermoso. (Beautiful.)

    TATE already has three studio albums and a live album. If you’re looking for something new that you can dance with, scream with, and cry with, this band is your best choice. They are full of energy and feeling – like we want everything to be.

    Like

  4. Thanks tons Kethra, that’s awesome! Next time I receive a Spanish post, I’ll know who to come to!

    Like

  5. Jen says:

    Beautiful story

    Like

Leave a Reply

