ICYMI (aka The Lazy Spring Break Post)

Posted: March 25, 2014 in A Little Less Profound
Tags: , , , , , ,
Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event Photo by TATE fan Jenn, Vancouver, BC, Jan. 25, 2014

Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event
Photo by TATE fan Jenn, Vancouver, BC, Jan. 25, 2014

By Glen

Rock ‘n’ roll never sleeps… but rock ‘n’ roll bloggers do (occasionally).

It’s March Break here in beautiful BC, and with nine precious days off of work, I figure it’s high time I tear myself away from my iPad for a change and get reacquainted with my family. So, barring any bombshell news from The Airborne Toxic Event that distracts me from my eagerly anticipated life of laziness, I’ve got nothin’ for ya this week. Sorry.

But I know that hungry TATE fans demand to be fed. Your steady diet of TATE minutiae will return next week, I promise. In the meantime, just in case you need a morsel, I’ll resort to that time tested blogging tactic: the recap post.

It seems that the most popular posts on This Is Nowhere (and certainly my favorite ones to write) are those that drill down into a particular song. Never does the tag line “a little less profound” seem more apt than when I’m attempting to get beneath the surface of one of Mikel Jollett’s lyrical masterpieces and put into words what it means to me. But it sure is fun to try.

So, ICYMI, here’s a listing of song analysis posts written over the past nine months. If you haven’t already perused them, I’d be honored if you’d check them out. There are many more to come. If you’ve got a song you’d like to see covered in the future, please leave your suggestion in the comments below!

Mythology Around Midnight (“Sometime Around Midnight”)
All At Once, I’m Out of Control (“All At Once”)
The Curious Case of The Kids Are Ready to Die (“The Kids Are Ready to Die”)
Six of One, Half a Dozen of Something Else (“Half of Something Else”)
The Hitchhiking Game (“All I Ever Wanted”)
If You Die Before I Die (“The Graveyard Near the House”)
Every Jot and Tittle: How a Comma and a Period Changed Timeless (“Timeless”)
The Ghosts of Failure (“Bride and Groom”)

Glen, Fan of The Airborne Toxic Event Glen is the founder and editor of This Is Nowhere. He’s grateful for an understanding wife and kids who indulge his silly compulsion to chase a band all over the Pacific Northwest (and occasionally beyond) every time the opportunity arises.

Comments
  1. Deborah Gliva says:

    Thank you, Glen, for serendipitous timing! For the past ten years, I have cared in my home for a dear friend, paralyzed from the neck down. His condition obviously caused many health challenges for him. This past weekend started with an early Saturday morning visit to the emergency room, then two days in the ICU, where things changed very quickly, and ended with taking him home Monday (yesterday) morning on hospice. He died that evening, at home, surrounded by people who loved him.
    I read your All At Once article this morning, and Mikel’s words perfectly summed up my last three days: “You wake up one day and your whole life changes, and it tends to happen very, very quickly.” So appropriate!

    Like

    • Oh wow… I’m so sorry for your loss Debra. All the best to you.

      Like

      • Deborah Gliva says:

        Thank you! While I miss him so much – feels like a huge hole rent in my heart – I am so grateful to have been a part of his life, and that I was able to honor his wish to die at home. He suffered with pain for years, but his passing was peaceful.

        Like

Leave a Reply

