Does This Mean I’m Moving On?

Posted: April 1, 2014 in A Little Less Profound
Tags: , ,

Note Demi’s fine taste in tattoos. We’re twinsies!

By Glen

A couple months ago, I went out on a long-awaited, much-anticipated date… with my daughters.

At 13 and 11-years-old, the Vancouver stop of Demi Lovato’s Neon Lights Tour promised to be one of the high points of their year. And according to the Official Breakdown of Parenting Duties negotiated with my wife, concerts of all kinds fall under my purview – no exceptions.

And so it was that I found myself amongst just a handful of other males in the midst of a sold-out mob of preteen girls. (My ears have yet to recover from the shrieks that erupted when one of the Jonas brothers emerged stage left for an unexpected cameo.)

Clad in an Airborne Toxic Event t-shirt as a silent act of protest, I amused myself throughout the evening by tweeting smartass remarks and wishing I was at a TATE show.

I did it for my girls, I said. And it was true. The choice of activities was theirs, not mine. We fathers of adolescent females have to venture into all sorts of foreign territories in order to connect with our daughters on their home turf.

But something strange happened as I wisecracked my way through the night.

I found myself enjoying it.

Not just the time with my offspring, but the songs and the spectacle. The canned backing tracks, legions of dancers, elaborate set pieces and frequent costume changes that I’d been dreading – so commonplace among the acts that appeal to teens today – were nowhere to be seen. Instead, I found in Demi an increasingly rare quality in a pop act: restraint.

The stage was sparse, by arena show standards. The musicians played real instruments. There was no entourage. The singer, dressed in layers and resisting the oversexed norm, wore the same outfit from the beginning of the show to the end – imagine that! It was about the music. And as Randy Jackson might say, “Yo, that girl can blow, dawg.” (I think that means she sings well.)

And I had to admit, after years of listening to Mikel’s admittedly dark and depressing lyrics, there was something extraordinarily refreshing about the optimistic positivity of anthems like “Heart Attack,” “Give Your Heart a Break” and “Skyscraper” – to say nothing of the smash Disney hit “Let It Go,” which redefines the term ear worm, and hit an entirely other level live.

So, this is the shameful secret I’ve been hiding since that February evening: I think I’ve become a Lovatic. I’m done with brooding; I’m ready to embrace upbeat pop.

If This Is Nowhere has proven anything, it’s that when I embrace an artist, I do so with everything I’ve got. And though I haven’t lost any love for The Airborne Toxic Event, I can’t shake my new fixation – and I only have room in my life for one major obsession at a time.

That’s why I’m announcing the launch of a new blog: This Is Demi. I hope you will join me on this journey, though I understand that most of you won’t. Fortunately, the Lovatics are a huge and enthusiastic community, so I’m confident that I’ll find a readership for my musings on all things Lovato. My first post – Camp Rock: Modern Day Classic.

For those who are disappointed, disillusioned or even disgusted by this news: I’m sorry; I merely lost my head. I can do no better than to offer up the words of a very wise man: April is the Cruelest Month.

Glen, Fan of The Airborne Toxic Event Glen is the founder and editor of This Is Nowhere. He’s grateful for an understanding wife and kids who indulge his silly compulsion to chase a band all over the Pacific Northwest (and occasionally beyond) every time the opportunity arises.

Comments
  1. Maria says:

    Congratulations, Glen. You got me.

    Like

  2. jenlargent says:

    Happy April Fools Day to you too! Nice try but, even though we have only met once, all I can say is “oh please” (full of sarcasm) Love you Jen πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜±πŸ’©πŸ’˜πŸŒΌπŸ‘‘πŸ‘ πŸ’²πŸŽ€πŸŽ΅πŸŽΆπŸŽΌπŸŽ»πŸŽΉπŸŽ·πŸŽΊπŸŽΈπŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜¨πŸ˜΄πŸ˜΄πŸ˜΄πŸ˜΄πŸ˜΅πŸ˜πŸ˜­πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

    Like

  3. Kelly says:

    Whoa, for a minute I thought your were retiring your blog. Don’t go scaring me and I’ll continue toasting to the Bride and Groom.

    Like

  4. Angela Fuller says:

    Nice job Glen, but we all know you’d never leave us Airborne fanatics for Demi Lovato.

    Like

  5. I’m hurt that no one believes me. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

