TATE Withdrawal

Posted: April 22, 2014 in Clamoring of the Crowd
Tags: , , ,

By Jamie

Jamie, worshiping at the feet of Mikel Jollett

Jamie, worshiping at the feet of Mikel Jollett

A funny thing happened last week. My Facebook feed was flooded with all things The Airborne Toxic Event related. YouTube clips and song lyrics were posted over and over again. All of my fellow TATE lovers seemed to be feeling the way I have been recently. It’s been too long.

My last TATE show was 7 months ago, which makes this the longest length of time I’ve gone between shows since I first became a fan. There have been opportunities since then… a small tour in February, a couple of festivals this summer. I haven’t been able to make it any of it happen because of distance, money and time. But it’s okay. I mean, I’m okay. I’ve been to other concerts and I can listen to other bands’ music. My daughter and I regularly sing the entire soundtrack to Frozen (and yes I enjoy myself, thank you very much). I can even listen to my TATE library without feeling a little sad about my lack of upcoming concerts. I can totally handle this dry spell. I think.

Truth is, I may be fine, but I actually miss them, which is silly because I don’t really know them. I know it seems even more ridiculous to a non-fan or anyone who hasn’t seen them live. As has been mentioned before, the experience is hard to explain but not to be missed.

All it takes, especially recently, is a certain lyric or note to trigger a hundred different memories. My favorite of those memories include nights spent laughing and dancing. Looking at the people on stage and the people next to you, and smiling because you know that at that very moment you are almost completely free. Free of worry and free of thoughts. There’s just the music filling your head and your body being overtaken by the pounding in your chest from the drum and bass. At the end of the show there are sweaty hugs and selfies with the band and after-show drinks and laughs with fellow fans that you call friends.

TATE will be back before I know it. Until then I have a little something to look forward to… a yet to be determined date with my favorite musicians. I’ll be front row in a room full of friends and strangers, singing and dancing like it’s my last night on earth.

Jamie: A Strange, Strange GirlJamie spends most of her days with her husband as they attempt to raise 4 future TATE fans and all around decent human beings. In her free time, when not obsessively listening to her favorite bands and going to concerts, she is also an aspiring seamstress. She writes about her handmade wardrobe on her blog Such a Strange Girl, and is a regular contributor to This Is Nowhere.

Comments
  1. Agree totally Jamie! It’s been a little over a year for me since I last saw them in Portland! ~Elizabeth (aka Kethra)

    Like

  2. Angela Fuller says:

    I’m really disappointed they are not playing ACL this year (I live in Austin), but I’m going to see them next month in Fort Worth. 3 more weeks until I get my fix!!!

    Like

    • Jamie says:

      I’m so happy you have a show coming up! I hope you have a fantastic time.

      It’s a bummer that they are not playing any festivals close to me. The closest one is Firefly which is a 4 hour trip. I would definitely travel that far for a full show but for an hour set at a festival (that would cost me hundreds of dollars to attend)? I just can’t do it. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

