Top 5 Toxic Covers

Posted: September 4, 2014 in 5's
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event, O2 Academy, Birmingham, October 2014. Photo by Stephanie.

Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event, O2 Academy, Birmingham, October 2014. Photo by Stephanie.

By Stephanie

The Airborne Toxic Event are a band that regularly include covers of songs by other bands in their live sets.  In the run up to the San Francisco shows, many fans are wondering what other songs the band might include either side of the album tracks.  Glen has already given his 5 Rare Treats To Hope For at The Fillmore Residency and 10 Highlights We Can’t Wait For At The Fillmore; here’s my 5 favourite covers that I hope for the band to perform.

5. Goodbye Horses

Originally recorded by Q Lazzarus and made popular by the film The Silence of The Lambs, “Goodbye Horses” is a song that I’ve loved for many years.  It’s a spiritual song and is said to be about transcendence over those who see the world as only earthly and finite.  The Airborne Toxic Event’s version has Mikel’s vocals as haunting as female vocalist Q Lazzarus’ original recording – it has been known to bring tears to my eyes, but it’s our band’s performance’s crescendo with Steven’s rocking out guitars that really makes me love their version.

4. This Magic Moment

Most of the band’s covers tend to be indie/punk/rock covers.  One exception to this is the band’s cover of The Drifters’ “This Magic Moment.” A memory from the 2009 gigs, the song starts off quite delicately, before the guitars add a rockier-tinge to the song.

3. Kiss Off

Of the videos the band has recorded of covers, their version of The Violent Femmes’ “Kiss-Off” is, for me, the most awesome.  Whilst this recording is a one-take stripped-back version, demonstrating the rawness we love in Mikel’s non-overproduced vocals, I’d love to observe live the passion in his expression and interpretation of the song – I’ve no doubt it would be an experience to remember!

2. Smiths Medley

Lots of the covers in the middle of “Missy” are popular with fans.  My favourite has to be The Smiths medley of “Panic” and “Ask” that used to be stalwarts of the 2009 gigs.  I’ve not heard this live since the ultra-sweaty, punk, Day 3 of the London Origins Tour of April 2011.  It would be great to hear it again on Day 1 of the Fillmore Residency.

1. People Who Died

The first time I heard the band perform this song, I loved the passion displayed by Mikel, and the fun the whole band had performing it. I was desperate to hear it again, so much so that I emailed the band twice before my final show of 2009 at Oxford begging them to perform it live again.  I don’t know if they read my emails, but to my delight they included it in the set at that show.  I remember Mikel joking that writers of songs died after the band covered their songs (William Garvey writer of “Goodbye Horses” being one, and Jim Carroll writer of “People Who Died” being the other).  Whilst I love the band’s covers – there’s a long list of acts I don’t want them to cover and jinx!

StephanieStephanie is Nottingham, England based. Her day job is an Information Lead in the National Health Service. She fills her spare time photographing concerts, supporting her football club, studying languages and teaching English to speakers of other languages as well partaking in many creative hobbies: knitting, bead jewellery making, dabbling in writing and painting. http://www.facebook.com/stephaniewebbphotography

Leave a Reply

