Toxicity 50

Posted: October 24, 2014 in Toxicity
Tags: , , , , , ,
Anna Bulbrook leans on Airborne Toxic Event bandmate Adrian Rodriguez in Burlington, VT. Photo by Ayaz Asif, Oct. 9, 2014 (https://www.facebook.com/AyazAsifPhotography).

Anna Bulbrook leans on Airborne Toxic Event bandmate Adrian Rodriguez in Burlington, VT. Photo by Ayaz Asif, Oct. 9, 2014 (https://www.facebook.com/AyazAsifPhotography).

By Glen

Today marks our 50th edition of Toxicity. That’s a whole lot of Airborne Toxic Event news under the bridge over the past 15 months. With the band enjoying a well-deserved and presumably much-needed breather this week, it was the quietist one we’ve had in awhile. But you can be sure things will heat up again as we head into the final two weeks of the fall tour, including the big L.A. homecoming at The Greek Theatre just six days from now.

Are You Right for the “Wrong” Video?

As TATE fans continue to anticipate the release of the “Wrong” single (which, contrary to some reports, did not happen on Tuesday), the song was at the center of the band’s latest announcement, made yesterday:

If you live in or will be in Denver on November 7th and you want to be in our new video for “Wrong,” we want to hear from you. We’ll be filming at the Ogden Theatre during the day in advance of our concert (and during the show), so if you’d like to be a part of this, email the following to airbornemerch@gmail.com with the subject heading “Music Video“:

1) A short paragraph about yourself and why you want to be in the video. Please include your full name.
2) A photo of yourself

If you’re selected, you’ll need to be available on November 7th for the entire day. If you don’t have tickets already, we’ll add you to our guest list for the show that night—plus, we’ll throw in some other goodies for you.

You’ll get a reply only if you’re selected. In it, we’ll provide detailed instructions about call times, clothes, etc.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

It’s enough to make a cash-poor blogger consider doing something foolhardy, like flying to Denver on a whim – again. (Don’t worry dear, common sense prevailed.) But what a fun opportunity for anyone who can swing it. Best of luck to all our readers who enter!

Love is in the Air(waves)

Thursday night, Mikel Jollett, Anna Bulbrook and Adrian Rodriguez made an appearance on the Loveline radio program – something that’s becoming a pretty regular occurrence for The Airborne Toxic Event. Music takes a backseat to other, more titillating topics on this show, as the band members dish out their wisest advice on love, sex, and other such subjects. Which is kind of funny when you think about it. (“You know, Dr. Drew, sometimes love can make you feel like shit…”)

Because this was written before the show aired at 10 pm, we can’t tell you anything about what went down (that’s what she said). However, if there were any Dope Machines revelations, we’ll pass those along on Facebook or Twitter. Or better yet, listen for yourself – it should soon be available as a podcast, here.

TATE Finds The Cure

Mikel’s adoration of The Cure is no secret, the writer having even penned a song (“Strange Girl”) in tribute to one of his favorites growing up. Strangely, though, The Airborne Toxic Event had never covered The Cure in concert – not until ten days ago, that is, when they pulled “Boys Don’t Cry” out of nowhere, dropping it into the middle of “Missy” in Columbus. It’s been the go-to snippet ever since. If you need to brush up on the lyrics before seeing it live, here’s a primer:

Tour Round-Up

Not as much on the docket this week in terms of TATE show reviews and photos, but still a number of sites worth checking out.

Toxic Gold

Tim Newell is at it again, posting the full show video of last week’s TATE Milwaukee gig in excellent quality. Highlights include “What’s in a Name,” “Strange Girl,” “Duet” and “Missy” with the “Boys Don’t Cry” snippet.

Glen, Fan of The Airborne Toxic EventGlen is the founder and editor of This Is Nowhere. He’s grateful for an understanding wife and kids who indulge his silly compulsion to chase a band all over the Pacific Northwest (and occasionally beyond) every time the opportunity arises.

Comments
  1. Anybody know when they’re going to contact people to let them know they’re on the music video guest list?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Brittany says:

      ^ I also would like to know. And hope people say something on social media so that we know. (But hopefully it will be us, saying we were chosen!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m doing something completely and totally unlike my usual self: I live in Tempe, AZ. I’ve only ever seen Airborne play in Tempe, AZ. I’m a single mom, without a ton of (or any, really) “reckless” cash. My birthday is November 5th, and I’ve decided (through the urging of friends and family) to go ahead and submit an entry – and, if I get picked, live a little and go to Colorado on a whim.

        ..but I’d like to know sooner, rather than later, if I should be sitting Expedia, etc. Are you in Colorado?? If we get picked, I’d love to meet a fellow fan!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Gosh darn it. Scouting, not sitting. Though I suppose I could be sitting on Expedia, too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Brittany says:

        Thats so awesome and i agree you should tottally do it. Were only young once! I have a similar situation. I live here in Houston and have only seen them here. After they announced the additional night in Denver, saying it “was really going to be something special”, I just knew I had to go. I felt like the worst fan in the world not going to the Fillmore lol.

        I found a package on Expedia for about 350. The ticket is only 138 roundtrip (Spirit airlines 😁, and non-refundable). So I’m also waiting to purchase. This will be my first time going anywhere alone, and to another state at that! Im a little nervous but I feel like its going to be very liberating! If i get picked im absolutly, without a doubt going, otherwise its like a 95% sure.

        Id love to meet up! I plan on arriving thursday if all goes well. I havent checked to see if i can even get off work tho.

        Liked by 2 people

      • What’s funny is I actually requested the time off of work for my birthday a while back (Wednesday the 5th thru Monday the 10th)… And I won’t have my son, he’ll be with his father… so, I feel like everything is lining up for me to go…

        It’ll be my first time traveling alone to another state, too! We will have to, at least, say hello! I won’t be able to fly in until Friday early morning – where are you staying?

        Liked by 2 people

      • Brittany says:

        For sure!

        All of the hotels I’m looking are super cheap, and probably sketchy. I havent decied on one yet though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ha! I’m hoping to stay somewhere course to the Ogden Theater. I’m fine with sketchy, as long as I can get a shower in and walk to the venue. I think. Because I don’t think I can afford a rental car on to of airfare and hotel stay.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Somewhere course. Yup.

        Somewhere close*

        Like

      • Brittany says:

        Yes I defintly want to be walking distance to the Ogden. The only reason im thinking about mayyyybe spluging for a car is because I want to beable to explore a little bit. I havent looked at rental prices, and also dont know anything about taxis.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yup. I’m a novice to both, too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

