On the Fifth Day of TATEmas…

Posted: December 16, 2014 in A Little Less Profound
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The Airborne Toxic Event: the 5th Day of TATEmas

Words by Glen, Artwork by Shyra

On the fifth day of TATEmas, Mikel gave to me:

five golden picks

four El Gran Burritos

three dueling drummers

two angel wings

and a bloody bird in a bare tree.

The Airborne Toxic Event: the 5th Day of TATEmas (detail)

The Airborne Toxic Event: the 5th Day of TATEmas (detail 2)

This piece is 8×10″. “I drew/painted 10 picks according to the design of this year’s picks and centered them on gold painted picks. The lyrics in the background are from ‘All At Once’ since it seemed there were so many changes all at once and some fans felt it was a total punch in the gut in the back, in the face, but also to just represent the general change and moving forward.” Comment below to enter to win this original artwork by Shyra Taylor. We’ll announce the winner tonight at 10pm Pacific Time.

shyraShyra lives with her husband and two girls (dogs) deep in the heart of Texas. Every spare moment she has, she spends in her studio listening to TATE and creating mixed media pieces using personal drawings, paints, pencils, papers – you name it. She enjoys finding ways to reuse/recycle different things in her works as well as collecting objects she finds in everyday places and odd spaces alike.

Glen, Fan of The Airborne Toxic Event Glen is the founder and editor of This Is Nowhere. He’s grateful for an understanding wife and kids who indulge his silly compulsion to chase a band all over the Pacific Northwest (and occasionally beyond) every time the opportunity arises.

Comments
  1. angimage says:

    I have gotten a pick from each of the concerts that I have gone to so I would LOVE this!!!!

    Like

  2. Justin Quinn says:

    Wow this one is simply beautiful! I love how its done!

    Like

  3. Dante says:

    Oh my gosh this is so cool! My brother would love to have this!

    Like

  4. Kristie says:

    That is absolutely beautiful!! I love it!!

    Like

  5. Brady Waller says:

    this is one of the best things ever!!!!!!

    Like

  6. Very cool. ๐Ÿ™‚ Steven’s Pacman ghost pick cracks me up.

    Like

  7. Evan says:

    I like!

    Like

  8. Rick Fedion says:

    I love it !!! The only pick of these I have is the orange one in the middle but I hope to add to my collection tonight in Providence and tomorrow in Saratoga ! The “All At Once” lyrics take this piece to the next level !

    Like

    • Shyra Taylor AKA Lady Rabin says:

      Thank you, and good luck! I hope you catch another. I have the orange one, and Adrian’s. I love both, but I cherish my orange one because my mom caught it for me at a concert I flew up to IL to drive to Milwaukee for both of us to see since I’m in Texas and my mom is in IL. โค #veryjealousyougettogototheshowtonight ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  9. Christine says:

    wow this is so awesome! Love it!

    Like

  10. Matthew Jameson says:

    Very nice! I never manged to get a pick. I think Adrian was trying to throw one to me last time but I wasn’t aggressive enough.

    Like

    • Shyra Taylor AKA Lady Rabin says:

      Thank you! I’ve had the same problem! I was lucky and my friend gave me one from a concert we went too, and my mom gave me one she caught at the concert that we went too. The closest I ever came was in Houston- my husband said- lift your foot, its under your boot! The guy next to us heard it and he swooped down and took it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and then ran off.

      Like

  11. jenlargent says:

    How TATETASTIC is this?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. jkellzy says:

    oh I love this! very creative!! I tried to get picks when we were front row but my daughters caught them instead. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  13. Joe Centanni says:

    I really like this one a lot….one of my favorites so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. David Somorai says:

    This is so very cool. The picks are awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Amazing work!! I love it!

    Like

  16. Denise says:

    Really cool! I love the picks!

    Like

  17. Dezi Hernandez says:

    Gahhhh!!!! โ™กโ™กโ™กโ™ก GORGEOUS! !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Andy says:

    This still blow me away…so awesome!

    Like

  19. Dave Virnelli says:

    Amazing!

    Like

  20. treendabean says:

    This is fantastic.

    Like

  21. Dave Heck says:

    Very cool. Each piece is so unique.

    Like

  22. vdios says:

    Please can these be mine?

    Like

  23. Five golden picks, awesome!

    Like

  24. mpw33 says:

    As an avid collector of TATE picks, I would love to pick up this work of art to ensure the holidays are indeed happy.

    Like

  25. Erin says:

    Very cool

    Like

  26. absolutely incredible! love this!

    Like

  27. Genesis Garcia says:

    This Is too Cool. Great way to have all 5 picks!!

    Like

  28. Debbie Gliva says:

    My favorite so far! Thank you for sharing your talent, Shyra!

    Like

  29. trevor says:

    come on Santa I’ve been a good boy this year

    Like

  30. Lidia Ortega says:

    This is truly amazing!!! I never got a pick from any of them, so it will be awesome to have this on my wall!

    Like

  31. Scott Hawes says:

    Gimme dem picks!

    Like

  32. This would go perfect in between my two Tate Posters hanging on my Wall.

    Like

  33. Alberto says:

    Ugh, this is perfection. All At Once lyrics too???! Gimmeeee

    Like

  34. Zach Talbert says:

    This is amazing, the picks are incredible along with All at Once. This is a piece of perfection!!

    Like

  35. Evan says:

    I have been holding back posting each day, wanting to see what might be available coming up the next day..and I’ve been missing out on great pieces, each piece so far I have loved for different reasons, just like everyone else each song/artwork has it’s own meaning and has that special place in our hearts, evoking all emotions from pain to joy to absolute chaos.

    While writing this, I couldn’t spell the word CHAOS. I was trying Kias, Kyoss, kyass..then my brain functioned and knew it was from the word chaiotic which i couldn’t spell, but it led me to spelling Chaotic finally right. Then led me to reading the definition, where my attempt at spelling the word chaos was in itself an example of the definition..

    I didn’t plan to write the word chaos until I started writing this, and by going though the wrong spellings to looking up the definition gave me clarity, where it was a all at once moment. Where clarity set in, not just about the spelling of the word, but what all at once means to me now more then even before I started writing the first word here.

    All at once is 3 simple words, that has given clarity to the chaos of my life. That anything can happen all at once, where it can be something that brings happiness or pain, but I choose to stay on the optimistic side now that all at once anything is possible.

    Like

  36. Chris N says:

    Another great one! *crosses fingers hopefully*

    Like

  37. Baluga says:

    Awesome. I hope to win one of these.

    Like

  38. Today’s winner is Dezi Hernandez. Next chance to win comes tomorrow morning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

