On the Eighth Day of TATEmas…

Posted: December 19, 2014 in A Little Less Profound
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Airborne Toxic Event: 8th Day of TATEmas

Words by Glen, Artwork by Shyra

On the eighth day of TATEmas, Mikel gave to me:

eight white dresses

seven Twitter rants

six jilted mermaids

five golden picks

four El Gran Burritos

three dueling drummers

two angel wings

and a bloody bird in a bare tree.

The Airborne Toxic Event: 8th Day of TATEmas (detail)

The Airborne Toxic Event: 8th Day of TATEmas (detail 2)

This piece is 8×10″. “This one by far is my absolute favorite – all the dresses were created separately and glued together and the lyrics to ‘Elizabeth’ were written in the background.” Comment below to enter to win this original artwork by Shyra Taylor. We’ll announce the winner tonight at 10pm Pacific Time.

shyraShyra lives with her husband and two girls (dogs) deep in the heart of Texas. Every spare moment she has, she spends in her studio listening to TATE and creating mixed media pieces using personal drawings, paints, pencils, papers – you name it. She enjoys finding ways to reuse/recycle different things in her works as well as collecting objects she finds in everyday places and odd spaces alike.

Glen, Fan of The Airborne Toxic Event Glen is the founder and editor of This Is Nowhere. He’s grateful for an understanding wife and kids who indulge his silly compulsion to chase a band all over the Pacific Northwest (and occasionally beyond) every time the opportunity arises.

Comments
  1. This would look perfect on my wall.. I love it..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lidia Ortega says:

    Wow, this is really beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jenlargent says:

    Those white dresses would look great in my closet!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patrick Mellarkey says:

    Such a beautiful song. I learned and repeated this song immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Simon Young says:

    Really good, brings a lot of things together, have a big connection to this theme.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. els9874 says:

    That white dress! I love this so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. mpw33 says:

    What a great concept! I would treasure this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Alberto says:

    Wow, that’s really awesome! Great job once again 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Rick Fedion says:

    I love it! Looked at the artwork before reading the words and assumed it would be Midnight but Elizabeth is much more appropriate! All your pieces are incredibly creative!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. oh my god, this is breathtaking! my favorite too. definitely need this one, pretty please????

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Stacey Swan says:

    This is my favorite so far! It’s stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This one has been my favorite so far, too! Great job, Shyra! You’re so creative!

    Like

  13. Amanda says:

    Beautiful, you are so creative.

    Like

  14. Brady Waller says:

    I love this so much !! Elizabeth is one of my favorites

    Like

  15. Angelica says:

    love it!!!!

    Like

  16. Christine says:

    Wow this is gorgeous! Its very creative. I really love this piece!!!

    Like

  17. treendabean says:

    Nice touch with the ocho.

    Like

  18. Chris N says:

    White dresses and Elizabeth lyrics, great idea!

    Like

  19. Bill Sanders says:

    I think #megantheshy needs this on her bedroom wall.

    Like

  20. trevor says:

    definitely deserve this in my xmas stocking

    Like

  21. MG Wckd_Mom says:

    OMG I am going to die if I don’t get this!! I like this one too much. Fave number, fave song, fave artist, fave band, fave all…**faint**

    Like

  22. Matthew Jameson says:

    You are right… This is absolutely the best one yet. This one should go to Mikel.

    Like

    • Shyra Taylor AKA Lady RAbin says:

      🙂 Thank you! I have wondered if TATE has caught a glance of any and what they thought. *Continues to daydream*

      Like

  23. David Somorai says:

    My wife really loves this one. Would make a great gift for Christmas.

    Like

  24. Rebecca says:

    Those dresses are just my size!!!! Pick me. Choose me. Love me!

    Like

  25. Dave Virnelli says:

    This is awesome. Really cool that you are giving these away. Thanks so much!

    Like

  26. Angie Schuman says:

    i LOVE this one so much!! It literally brought a tear to my eye. I love the passion & mystery surrounding the white dress!

    Like

  27. Debbie Gliva says:

    So pretty!

    Like

  28. Today’s winner is Patrick Mellarkey. Still 4 more chances to win, starting Saturday morning!

    Like

  29. Vanesa Rivera says:

    That is fabulous. Also very creative, and Elizabeth background lyrics make it more beautiful. 🙂

    Like

  30. trevor says:

    ok so im late posting this is great

    Like

Leave a Reply

