On the Tenth Day of TATEmas…

Posted: December 21, 2014 in A Little Less Profound
Tags: , , , ,

The Airborne Toxic Event: 10th Day of TATEmas

Words by Glen, Artwork by Shyra

On the tenth day of TATEmas, Mikel gave to me:

ten concert selfies

nine singing Chens

eight white dresses

seven Twitter rants

six jilted mermaids

five golden picks

four El Gran Burritos

three dueling drummers

two angel wings

and a bloody bird in a bare tree.

The Airborne Toxic Event: 10th Day of TATEmas (detail)

This piece is 8×10″. “A caricature style drawing of Mikel taking a picture with fans behind him. The background contains excerpts from different TATE songs.” Comment below to enter to win this original artwork by Shyra Taylor. We’ll announce the winner tonight at 10pm Pacific Time.

shyraShyra lives with her husband and two girls (dogs) deep in the heart of Texas. Every spare moment she has, she spends in her studio listening to TATE and creating mixed media pieces using personal drawings, paints, pencils, papers – you name it. She enjoys finding ways to reuse/recycle different things in her works as well as collecting objects she finds in everyday places and odd spaces alike.

Glen, Fan of The Airborne Toxic Event Glen is the founder and editor of This Is Nowhere. He’s grateful for an understanding wife and kids who indulge his silly compulsion to chase a band all over the Pacific Northwest (and occasionally beyond) every time the opportunity arises.

Comments
  1. Alberto G. says:

    I wanna win 😀

    Like

  2. boobookids says:

    Very cool piece! Shyra has mad skills and I would love to have this!

    Like

  3. Eric Hochstein says:

    Nice drawing. Beautiful.

    Like

  4. Joe Centanni says:

    Very interesting piece today!

    Like

  5. Dave Heck says:

    Another great piece of art!

    Like

  6. David Somorai says:

    This one is beast. I really love it. The drawings are great! I really want this one. Great job Shyra!

    Like

  7. treendabean says:

    I think I see myself in the audience. 😉

    Like

  8. Rick Fedion says:

    Sweet!

    Like

  9. Baluga says:

    Very very cool. I would love to hear what Mikel has to say about this piece but I want to win it even more. I have a spot on a wall that is screaming for a part of this very special collaborative effort you two have done. I can totally see the band writing a Christmas song around this. Great job.

    Like

    • Shyra Taylor AKA Lady RAbin says:

      Thank you Baluga! I heard an interview piece where Mikel was talking about fan art – so I felt a lot of pressure on this one, thus doing charicature instead of trying to do something uber realistic. It would be really cool to know they saw one of these 😀 (and hopefully like it, lol)

      Like

      • treendabean says:

        I hear you, Shyra. I’ve heard them giggle about fan art on more than one occasion which created some reluctance yet it didn’t stop me from making some anyways. Because art, or in my case “art”

        Like

  10. Christine says:

    This is awesome!

    Like

  11. jenlargent says:

    I have longed for a Mikel selfie

    Like

  12. Robert Heck says:

    That is great. ..mad skills!!

    Like

  13. mpw33 says:

    No gifts under my TATEmas tree yet. Maybe today is the day.

    Like

  14. els9874 says:

    The famous Mikel selfie!! How fun! this is great Shyra

    Like

  15. Today’s winner is David Somorai. Second last chance to win comes tomorrow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

