Coming Tomorrow from The Airborne Toxic Event: Songs of God and Whiskey

Posted: February 23, 2015 in Toxicity
Tags: , , ,

The Airborne Toxic Event, Songs of God and WhiskeyIn case you missed it, The Airborne Toxic Event dropped a bombshell of the best kind today:

We’re happy to announce that tomorrow we will be releasing not one, but two records. The first is a mostly electronic/synth-driven/beat-driven record called Dope Machines, and it will be available everywhere. The second is an acoustic and rock and roll record, called Songs of God and Whiskey. That record will only be available on our website beginning at midnight tonight.

If you’re receiving this email, it’s because you’re on our email list which means you’ve probably been to a show or maybe even that we’ve met you at some point in the past eight years out on the road. After all, that’s how this email list was made—culled over endless hours in venues around the world meeting people, covered in sweat, the room stinking of beer. For that reason, we felt it was only appropriate that we announce this news to you first (it’s not being announced anywhere else for a while) and to tell you that we’re so glad that we’ve gotten to meet you through these years, to see the cities where you live, to share the moments we’ve shared in those sweaty, beer-soaked rooms.

The songs from Songs of God and Whiskey are taken from 10 years of songwriting. Some are quite new, some are quite old. All were recorded by us as a group in a small studio on a hill in Los Angeles (Mount Washington, to be exact). We’re not doing any tricky chicanery on the tracks to make them hard to copy or send or reproduce. We’re quite aware that makes them easy to be traded on file-sharing sites, but hey I guess that’s the world we live in. We trust you’ll be cool and buy it if you want it. It’s seven bucks—the same amount we would get from iTunes if we sold it there.

It would be fashionable to say we decided to forego the long process of promotion and distribution of the modern music industry as a way of doing our part to attempt to realign the music world to be a more artist friendly environment in which the blah blah blah… But it’s not really true. (Even though we very much agree with those principles).

With this, we just had a simple idea in mind: make it and put it out.

Songs of God and Whiskey

1. Poor Isaac
2. Cocaine and Abel
3. A Certain Type of Girl
4. Change and Change and Change and Change
5. April is the Cruelest Month
6. The Lines of the Cars
7. Strangers
8. Why Why Why
9. California
10. The Fall of Rome

We’ll have a full review of the surprise album tomorrow, hot on the heels of our Dope Machines review that will hit the site very late tonight.

  1. jqj213 says:

    This may be some of the best news I’ve heard all year!!!
    Yes I am looking forward to Dope Machines… But its so different from what brought me to the group in the first place..
    This album though! It’s just what I wanted! “Fall of Rome” especially will keep me happy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. treendabean says:

    I can’t remember the last time I was this excited about something, that email nearly dropped me to the floor this morning and I squealed with delight.
    This might be one of the very few times my procrastination has paid off. I only pre-ordered a digital copy and held off the on getting my CD. So glad I did.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. treendabean says:

    Releasing Songs of God and Whisky is such a good call. I have 3 of the 10 songs on my YouTube channel and they by far have the most views. People are thirsty for this music.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Coming Tomorrow from The Airborne Toxic Event: Songs of God and Whiskey […]


  5. jqj213 says:

    I ended up actually canceling the Amazon pre-order of Dope Machines in order to get Songs of God and Whiskey….
    So far I am so glad I did because my gosh this is becoming one of the best things I’ve listened to!


  6. Nicole says:

    I ordered Dope Machines and the digital download of Songs of God and Whiskey. Unfortunately, I read the disclaimer that says not to use Safari to download it AFTER I used Safari to download it. It didn’t work and now my one download is expired. Does anyone know what to do or who to contact?


  7. […] Coming Tomorrow from The Airborne Toxic Event: Songs of God and Whiskey […]


  8. […] we could get any more excited than we already were for the release of Dope Machines. And then came the wonderful, shocking announcement that the band had a 10-song surprise up their collective sleeve, a second album called Songs of God […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s