So, Another European TATE Tour is in the Books

Posted: April 30, 2015 in Clamoring of the Crowd
Tags: , , ,
Mikel Jollett and Steven Chen of The Airborne Toxic Event rock Glasgow, while Daren Taylor hides behind his cymbal. Photo by Stephanie.

Mikel Jollett and Steven Chen of The Airborne Toxic Event rock Glasgow, while Daren Taylor hides behind his cymbal. Photo by Stephanie.

By Stephanie

So, last year after following The Airborne Toxic Event to San Francisco for the trifecta, and then to Colorado for the final three shows of the tour, I’d kind of made the decision that that was it. I’d done my bit following the band. The talked about change in style from guitar-based to electronic didn’t overly appeal – I preferred the guitar-based version of “Wrong” to the electronic version. It just seemed the right time to bow out.

Anna Bulbrook of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

Anna Bulbrook of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

ASo, what went wrong (or right)? Of course, I got caught up in all the excitement of the release of Dope Machines – so much so, I couldn’t wait for the UK release – I had to order it from Germany. I couldn’t have most of the other TATE fans I know hearing the album weeks before me. Surprise, surprise – the album wasn’t as cheesy as I’d expected – in fact, the title track sounded better as a recorded electronic track than the guitar live version! And then the band pulled a rabbit out of the hat in the form of Songs of God and Whiskey – now that was more like the ‘old’ TATE. A perfect complement to the ‘new’ TATE.

So, when other fans started getting excited for the European tour, so did I. I started to work out which dates I could make, where I could stay, flight times and prices. My vertigo symptoms had been kicking in again. I needed to be cautious what I committed to, I needed to be sure I didn’t overdo it. My fellow TATErs helped me out lots in giving me places to stay, and assuring me they’d look after me if I did have a bad vertigo attack. My boss at work was very understanding about allowing me to be flexible about taking time off if I needed it to rest. Everything fell into place.

Adrian Rodriguez of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

Adrian Rodriguez of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

So, I flew to Amsterdam – so much fun to meet up with other TATE fans again – representatives in our group of six from four different countries. The gig itself was great – the band seemed pleased to see us, with Mikel looking straight at me for a small section of “Half of Something Else.” At least, I don’t think I imagined that… Then came London – a hug from Mikel afterwards and him commenting that that gig was a bit closer for me. Manchester was extremely hot and sweaty – yes, much hotter than SF night 1. Yes. Really! It was so hot that the band handed the audience bottles of water before the encore. Leeds came next – and the first time I ever heard Songs of God and Whiskey track “Change & Change & Change & Change” live.

So, as a gig photographer, I was keen to photograph the band live. Efforts on previous tours hadn’t been great – the band often play in very low light. I’d known that most of the venues would be poor lighting, I’d expected London to have the biggest interest from other press, so I’d put in my request for Dublin. The lighting had been great there 18 months before. The morning of my flight to Glasgow I still hadn’t had confirmation of a photopass. A friend offered to help chase for me. However, as she was on a different day to me, when I said “tomorrow’s gig” there was a misunderstanding and I was granted a pass for The Garage, Glasgow.

Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

So, I flew to Glasgow and awaited communication as to whether my pass could be changed to Dublin. No word. I went to the gig and my pass was on the desk. Another TATEr saw the tour manager and went to see if my pass could be changed – the answer came back that I’d been given a pass for both gigs!

So, it was a quick run up a very steep hill to my B&B, up the 3 flights of stairs to my room to grab my camera before making my way back to the venue. Now, most of us have heard the playlists before “Bohemian Rhapsody,” but mostly from inside the venue. As I walked back in, “Under Pressure” was blaring from the speakers. My heart started beating faster, letting David Bowie and Queen fill my ears. I made my way to the front and into the photopit.

So, anyway, my Glasgow photos aren’t great – the light was too difficult to work with to get a shot of Adrian, or of Steven’s jump in “Wrong.” The opening three songs were all Anna on keyboard with her heard down – so shots of her are disappointing. Mikel’s black-eye from Leeds is visible. There’s a couple of nice ones of Steven though! My Dublin photos are so much better and will be published on Altsounds.com soon.

So, another tour over. Did I enjoy it? Of course I did. Lots of fun times with old friends and new ones. A couple of new songs heard – still more to hear live. Hopefully. One day.

Daren Taylor of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

Daren Taylor of The Airborne Toxic Event, Glasgow. Photo by Stephanie.

View Stephanie’s full TATE Glasgow gallery

StephanieStephanie is Nottingham, England based. Her day job is an Information Lead in the National Health Service. She fills her spare time photographing concerts, supporting her football club, studying languages and teaching English to speakers of other languages as well partaking in many creative hobbies: knitting, bead jewellery making, dabbling in writing and painting. http://www.facebook.com/stephaniewebbphotography

Comments
  1. Kenny P says:

    6 videos from Manchester & 1 video from Glasgow are on my youtube channel. Enjoy. 😉 https://www.youtube.com/user/87smtid/videos

    Like

  2. […] Webb, who recently wrote about the TATE Glasgow show for This Is Nowhere, followed that up with a review and photos of the group’s Dublin […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

