Los Toxicos: Megan the Shy

Posted: March 8, 2016 in Los Toxicos
Tags: , , ,
Mikel the Chagrined meets Megan the Shy

Mikel the Chagrined meets Megan the Shy

Los Toxicos is a monthly feature where we get to know a fan of The Airborne Toxic Event. To nominate a fan (or yourself) for a future month, e-mail us.

Megan with Steven Chen of The Airborne Toxic Event

Megan with Steven Chen of The Airborne Toxic Event

Name: Megan the Shy

Where are you from?

I was born in Chico, CA; we moved to SoCal when I was 3.

Tell us about yourself (who you are, what grade you are in, hobbies, etc.).

In March I’ll be 12 and in August I’ll be in 7th grade. I’m a competitive gymnast; last year I took 2nd all around at worlds for my age and division. I love gymnastics, running and basketball. I love music. TATE is my number one band and on my way to gymnastics competitions we blast Queen. I used to surf but then I saw Shark Week so now I snowboard, my dad and I have been going up to Big Bear for the last few years. And I like to sleep.

The Airborne Toxic Event does not have a lot of fans your age. How did you discover them, and what do you like about them?

My mom was streaming TATE at Peavey Hollywood so we watched it together. But my dad introduced my mom after he saw them on Letterman. I like that they cuss and they are the coolest people ever.

What does your Airborne Toxic Event collection include?

We went to the Visalia show and afterwards my dad talked to the manager who mailed us a huge banner; it’s like 3′ wide by about 7′ of the band and it’s hanging in my room. I have countless picks. One time I stepped on a lady’s hand to get a pick (sorry lady). Daren has gifted me drum sticks and multiple setlists that are hanging in my room. My dad bought me signed vinyl and cd’s. I went to every show in San Francisco at the Fillmore so I have posters from all three nights. T shirts, a bag, sweatshirts. I’m a walking billboard.

The Airborne Toxic Event's Biggest Littlest Fan

The Airborne Toxic Event’s Biggest Littlest Fan

What’s your favorite TATE song and album, and why?

“A Certain Type of Girl.” I like the line “Us big city boys, we don’t think about it much, it’s all whiskey, wine and messin’ around with drugs.” I like that it’s a shock to people when I sing it. It feels rock ‘n’ roll. My favorite album is Songs of God and Whiskey. I like all those songs.

Have you ever had a special experience at a TATE concert? Tell us about it.

I was picked to go backstage and I got to meet everyone; that’s where I got my nickname Megan the Shy. Anna was the coolest person I have ever met. We stay after concerts so I can see the band and wave; I want to say hi and take pictures but I get shy. We went to see them in Sacramento and the next day we flew home and saw the band at the airport. Mikel told me to keep giving my parents hell, best advice ever! In Los Angeles at the Wiltern, Mikel poured champagne over the crowd we were drenched, it was so cool. I smelled like booze for a week. Plus I’ve met some cool people at each show.

Megan with Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event

Megan with Mikel Jollett of The Airborne Toxic Event

What’s on your Airborne Toxic Event bucket list?

What’s left? Roadie (hint hint, Bill tour manager dude).

What would you tell other kids your age to get them to check out The Airborne Toxic Event?

I’ve already started talking to my friends about them years ago. In third grade I taped the band picture to my folder. Most of my friends listen to pop music but I’m trying to tell my friends TATE is what cool people listen to. Enough of that F-ing Taylor Swift. (My mom and dad are laughing.) My 75-year-old grandma saw a picture of TATE and said Adrian is sexy and Mikel has nice teeth; even grandmas like the band.

Comments
  1. Shannon Mess says:

    LOVE it!!! I have 2 little ones (12 & 7) who love TATE also. So glad we’re bringing up the next generation on the right music! You rock Megan the Shy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. radhacelis says:

    Love it!! yes Enough pop music!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Steve Hembera says:

    Megan the shy…says who? She does love the music. Megan and her parents will travel most anywhere to hear Airborne Toxic Event. So far, I haven’t been able to talk her into any Lawrence Welk. LOL Grandpa

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

